Outstandingly innovative: Top 100 seal for Schwarz



Schwarz Elektromotoren is one of the most innovative medium-sized German companies / Tribute by Ranga Yogeshwar


Success through entrepreneurial vision: At the German medium-sized business summit on 26th June 2015, Schwarz Elektromotoren GmbH was distinguished as one of the most innovative medium-sized German companies. “Top 100” mentor Ranga Yogeshwar honoured the company from Rehau with the “Top 100” seal, which has been awarded for over 20 years. Before this, Schwarz Elektromotoren underwent a two-stage academic analysis process.

In the “Top 100”, Schwarz Elektromotoren GmbH stood out particularly for its innovation strength and for the promotion of innovation by the top management. Since owner and Managing Director Markus Schwarz became independent with the company 15 years ago, he has developed one new product after another. With 47 employees, the company produces electric motors for conveyor vehicles, electric cars, extinguishing systems, hybrid systems and shipbuilding and it markets these worldwide. “After the steam engine and the combustion engine, the future now belongs to the electric motor,” Schwarz and his Managing Director colleague Bärbel Feulner are certain.

The machine manufacturer from the Upper Franconian town of Rehau is among the international top group in this industry and invests a seven-figure sum every year in the development of its own innovative projects. With success: the “Top 100” company generated half of its turnover in 2014 with innovations and product optimisations, which it launched on the market ahead of the competition. Markus Schwarz generally works on the innovations himself – supported by three or four designers. Sales of one of his newest developments, a battery-powered electric motor that works with virtually no wear and adjusts the wings of wind turbines, have now reached over 60,000. At eCarTec 2014 in Munich, the engineer presented his latest idea: the prototype of a water-cooled electric motor with integrated transmission.

“Our good ideas and their quick implementation are a decisive competitive factor for us,” Managing Director Markus Schwarz explains. “That is why we invest a great deal of time and effort in our innovation management. We rely on the imagination of all employees here. My thanks are due to them for the achievement of the “Top 100” award.’

The award of the “Top 100” seal is based on a two-stage analysis developed by Prof Dr Nikolaus Franke and his team from the Institute of Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Vienna University of Economics. The academics examine the innovation management and innovation success of the medium-sized companies on the basis of over 100 parameters in five categories. Who is ultimately awarded the “Top 100” seal is decided by the academic management alone.

This year, Franke and his team examined more applications than ever before: of 302 qualifiers, 234 companies made it to the final. 178 of them received the award in three size classes (maximum of 100 companies per size class). The German medium-sized business summit in Essen forms the setting for the award presentation.

The “Top 100” are outstanding in every respect: they include 71 national market leaders and even 31 world market leaders. Together, the top innovators registered 3,405 national and international patents in the last three years. Almost 41 percent of their turnover was ultimately generated with market innovations and improvements launched on the market ahead of the competition (average of all SMEs in Germany: 6.6 percent). The success does not happen by chance: the top innovators invest an average of 10.5 percent of their turnover in research and development (average of all SMEs in Germany: 1.5 percent). Two thirds of the “Top 100” are family companies.

“Top 100”: The competition

Since 1993, compamedia has awarded the “Top 100” seal to medium-sized companies for special innovation strength and above-average innovation success. The academic management has been in the hands of Prof Dr Nikolaus Franke from the Institute of Entrepreneurship and Innovation at Vienna University of Economics since 2002. The academic is one of the world’s leading experts on user innovation. The mentor of the “Top 100” is academic journalist and TV presenter Ranga Yogeshwar. The project partner is the Fraunhofer society for the promotion of applied research. As a media partner, manager magazin oversees the comparison of companies. More information at www.top100.de.

compamedia, mentor to the best medium-sized companies

compamedia GmbH, which was founded in 1993, organises the nationwide “Top 100” comparison of companies (since 1993) and “Top Consultant” (since 2010). In this, the company works together with prestigious universities.

 

We provide training: a cutting machine operator

Schwarz unter den Top 100 Unternehmen mit ausgezeichneter Innovationskraft



Erfolg durch unternehmerische Weitsicht:

Die Schwarz Elektromotoren GmbH wurde am 26. Juni 2015 auf dem Deutschen Mittelstands-Summit in Essen als eines der innovativsten Unternehmen im deutschen Mittelstand ausgezeichnet. „Top 100“-Mentor Ranga Yogeshwar ehrt das Rehauer Unternehmen mit dem seitüber 20 Jahren verliehenen „Top 100“-Siegel. Zuvor hatte sich Schwarz Elektromotoren einem zweistufigen wissenschaftlichen Analyseverfahren unterzogen.

Die Schwarz Elektromotoren GmbH überzeugte bei „Top 100“ besonders mit ihrer Innovationskraft und der Innovationsförderung des Top-Managements. Seit sich der Inhaber und Geschäftsführer Markus Schwarz vor 15 Jahren mit der Firma selbstständig gemacht hat, entwickelt er ein Neuprodukt nach dem anderen. Das Unternehmen produziert mit 47 Mitarbeitern Elektromotoren für Förderfahrzeuge, Elektroautos, Löschanlagen, Hybridsysteme und den Schiffsbau und vermarktet diese weltweit. „Nach der Dampfmaschine und dem Verbrennungsmotor gehört die Zukunft nun dem Elektromotor“, sind sich Schwarz und seine Geschäftsführerkollegin Bärbel Feulner sicher.

Der Maschinenbauer aus dem oberfränkischen Rehau zählt zur internationalen Spitzengruppe seiner Branche und investiert jährlich eine siebenstellige Summe in die Entwicklung eigener innovativer Projekte. Mit Erfolg: Die Hälfte seines Umsatzes erzielte das „Top 100“-Unternehmen 2014 mit Neuheiten und Produktoptimierungen, die es vor der Konkurrenz auf den Markt gebracht hat. An den Innovationen arbeitet Markus Schwarz meist selbst – unterstützt von drei oder vier Konstrukteuren. Eine seiner Neuentwicklungen, ein nahezu verschleißfrei arbeitender, batteriebetriebener Elektromotor, der die Flügel von Windrädern verstellt, hat sich inzwischen mehr als 60.000 Mal verkauft. Auf der eCarTec 2014 in München stellte der Ingenieur seine neuste Idee vor: den Prototypen eines wassergekühlten Elektromotors mit integriertem Getriebe.

„Unsere guten Ideen und ihre schnelle Umsetzung sind ein entscheidender Wettbewerbsfaktor für uns“, erklärt Geschäftsführer Markus Schwarz. „Deshalb investieren wir viel Zeit und Aufwand in unser Innovationsmanagement. Wir setzen dabei auf den Ideenreichtum aller Mitarbeiter. Ihnen gebührt mein Dank für das Erreichen der ‚Top 100’-Auszeichnung.“

Grundlage der Auszeichnung mit dem „Top 100“-Siegel ist eine zweistufige Analyse, die Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Franke und sein Team vom Lehrstuhl für Entrepreneurship und Innovation der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien entwickelt haben. Die Wissenschaftler untersuchen das Innovationsmanagement und den Innovationserfolg der mittelständischen Unternehmen anhand von über 100Parametern in fünf Kategorien. Wer letztlich mit dem „Top 100“-Siegel ausgezeichnet wird, entscheidet allein die wissenschaftliche Leitung.

In diesem Jahr haben Franke und sein Team so viele Anmeldungen wie noch nie geprüft: Von 302 Qualifikanten schafften es 234 Unternehmen ins Finale. 178 von ihnen erhalten in drei Größenklassen (maximal 100 Unternehmen pro Größenklasse) die Auszeichnung. Den Rahmen für die Preisverleihung bildet der Deutsche Mittelstands-Summit in Essen.

Die „Top 100“ sind in jeder Hinsicht ausgezeichnet: 71 nationale Marktführer und sogar 31 Weltmarktführer sind dabei. Zusammen meldeten die Top-Innovatoren in den vergangenen drei Jahren 3.405 nationale und internationale Patente an. Knapp 41 Prozent ihres Umsatzes erzielten sie zuletzt mit Marktneuheiten und Verbesserungen, die sie vor der Konkurrenz auf den Marktbrachten (Durchschnitt aller KMU in Deutschland: 6,6 Prozent). Der Erfolg kommt nicht von ungefähr: Die Top-Innovatoren investieren im Schnitt 10,5 Prozent ihres Umsatzes in Forschung und Entwicklung (Durchschnitt aller KMU in Deutschland: 1,5 Prozent). Zwei Drittel der „Top 100“ sind Familienunternehmen.

„Top 100“: der Wettbewerb

Seit 1993 vergibt compamedia das „Top 100“-Siegel für besondere Innovationskraft und überdurchschnittliche Innovationserfolge an mittelständische Unternehmen. Die wissenschaftliche Leitung liegt seit 2002 in den Händen von Prof. Dr.Nikolaus Franke vom Institut für Entrepreneurship und Innovation der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien. Der Wissenschaftler ist weltweit einer der führenden Experten für User-Innovation. Mentor von „Top 100“ ist der Wissenschaftsjournalist und TV-Moderator Ranga Yogeshwar. Projektpartnerin ist die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der angewandten Forschung. Als Medienpartner begleitet das manager magazin den Unternehmensvergleich. Mehr Infos unter www.top100.de.

compamedia, Mentor der besten Mittelständler

Die 1993 gegründete compamedia GmbH organisiert mit 15 Mitarbeitern die bundesweiten Unternehmensvergleiche „Top 100“ (seit 1993) und „Top Consultant“ (seit 2010). Das Unternehmen arbeitet dabei mit namhaften Universitäten zusammen.


Wir bilden aus zum: Zerspanungsmechaniker